Anchorman challenge, part 2

So, I’m the first to admit the first part of the Anchorman hockey challenge was an abomination. My only saving grace is that Matt Pearl was almost as bad as I was in picking the NHL’s first-round matchups. I mean, c’mon, I handed him a gimme in Ottawa and he still only has a three-point lead?

Here’s the standings, although I’ve cut and pasted these. I hope he’s not cheating.

MATT: 11 points
Montreal over Boston in 5 (2 pts)
Pittsburgh over Ottawa in 5 (2 pts)
Washington over Philly in 5 (0 pts)
NJ Devils over NY Rangers in 7 (0 pts)

Detroit over Nashville in 5 (2 pts)
San Jose over Calgary in 4 (2 pts)
Colorado over Minnesota in 6 (3 pts)
Anaheim over Dallas in 7 (0 pts)

TIM: 8 points
Montreal over Boston in 5 (2 pts)
Ottawa over Pittsburgh in 6 (0 pts)
Washington over Philly in 5 (0 pts)
NJ Devils over NY Rangers in 6 (0 pts)

Detroit over Nashville in 5 (2 pts)
San Jose over Calgary in 5 (2 pts)
Minnesota over Colorado in 6 (0 pts)
Dallas over Anaheim in 7 (2 pts)

Anyway, here’s what I have for the second round, and I realize I’m in close to the wire on these. Play starts in an hour.

Montreal over Philly in 5: The Flyers played really well in round one. Really well. But the Canadiens have yet to show their depth and this is where it starts to surface. Carey Price wasn’t bad in Games 5 and 6, even though that’s the knock on him. Still, the wake-up call was a good one for Montreal, and I’m expecting the Habs to come out with a lot more focus.

Pittsburgh over N.Y. Rangers in 6: I realize this goes against everything I said in the first round, but I think Pittsburgh is better than the Rangers. Period. I’m still not sold on the whole Pens phenomenon. They’ve got a long way to go before they can say they’ve accomplished anything. But they’ll have too much for the Blueshirts.

Dallas over San Jose in 6: OK, while the Sens pick was a bad one (really Tim?), this has plenty more merit. I like the Sharks, but they’re not as solid as people assume because of that long win streak. And the Stars are having a Marty Turco party. He stones the Sharks in 6.

Detroit over Colorado in 6: Pearl’s on this one. The Red Wings are good, and deep. And while the Avs are having a great time at the old timer’s reunion, Detroit’s talent will rise to the surface here.

OK, Pearl, there you have ’em. Sorry in advance for the dramatic turn of events in the second round.

One response to “Anchorman challenge, part 2

  1. Pingback: The Ultimate Sports Road Trip » Blog Archive » The anchorman challenge: Pearl v Schmitt

Leave a Reply

